Several from Jefferson County named to All-South team

Mt. Vernon vs CM p18

MURPHYSBORO – The Southern Illinois Coaches Association All-South selections have been released with several Jefferson County athletes represented in different sports.

Mt. Vernon featured a pair of Coach of the Year mentors. Tim Holloway was named Class 3A Baseball coach of the year. Holloway led the Rams to a 26-10 record and a perfect 10-0 record in the South Seven Conference. Mt. Vernon won its second straight regional title.

The Rams featured three players making the All-South Team in seniors Quinton Kujawa, Walker Brockhouse and Gage Burroughs.

Webber Township was also represented on the All-South team with left-handed junior Charles Neal making the team.

Mt. Vernon girls track and field coach Connie Harre-Blair was named All-South Coach of the Year in Class 2A. The Lady Rams won the South Seven championship and went on the win the Salem Sectional as well.

The Lady Rams had four individuals make the All-South Team as well as a relay team. Tredaja Harris was selected as a sprinter. Aneeya Taylor was named as a hurdler, while Kate Bushue (distance) and A’veun Moore-Jones (thrower) were both selected All-South members. Vernon’s 4×100 Meter Relay team was also honored with an All-South selection.

Evan Owens and Eli Badger both were selected All-South after qualifying for state in boys track.

In softball, Waltonville/Sesser-Valier’s Hannah Garascia and Gretchen Witter, along with Woodlawn’s Kalyn Crider were also named to the All-South squad.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s